Annual Report 2009


Report of the Management Committee
for the year 2009


Your Management Committee submits the Association’s audited Accounts for the year ended 31 December 2009, and reports as follows:-


The Auditor’s Report and Financial Statements of the Association for the year ended 31 December 2009 are shown in Appendix A.

Income from membership and weblink subscriptions, interest and newsletter advertisement during 2009 totalled RM8,324. Expenditure during the year totalled RM6,958, thus a surplus of RM1,366 was recorded for the year ended 31 December 2009.

Net current assets of the Association at 31 December 2009 as shown in the Balance Sheet stood at RM21,926 as compared with RM20,560 at end December 2008.


The rates of entrance fees and annual subscriptions for 2009 remained the same as follows:-


Entrance fee - RM100
Annual Subscription - RM100 per annum


Entrance Fee - RM100
Annual Subscription - RM100 per annum

Entrance fee and annual subscription are payable in advance at the time of application for membership and thereafter the annual subscription is payable on 1 January of each year.

At the Association’s Annual General Meeting held on 24 June 1997, members approved the revision of the annual subscription rates to RM800 and RM600 per annum for ordinary and associate members, respectively. However, your Management Committee decided that the date for implementation of the new fees be deferred for the time being to a suitable date in the future.


Membership in the Malaysian Tin Products Manufacturers’ Association (MPTMA), comprising ordinary and associate members, stood at 18 at the end of the year under review.


The Association was officially registered on 15 February 1990 with the Registrar of Societies under the Societies Act 1966.


At the Association’s Nineteenth Annual General Meeting held on 24 June 2009, the following were duly elected to constitute the Management Committee for 2009/2010, with their appointed alternates in brackets;

Mr. Makoto Hara – (Mr. Kong Kean Beng)
(Nihon Superior (M) Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Chen Tien Yue – (Ms. Keong Joo Dee)
(Royal Selangor International Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Lim Cheng Sang - (Mr. Lim Sheng Seaw)
(Metal Reclamation (Industries) Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Mamoru Kawasaki - (Mr. Loh Yoon Soon)
(Selayang Solder Sdn Bhd)

Mr. Jason Lee
(Henkel (M) Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Takayuki Nikaido
(Senju (M) Sdn. Bhd.)

En. Ab. Patah Mohd
(Perusahaan Sadur Timah Malaysia (PERSTIMA) Sdn. Bhd.)


The following Committee members were duly elected as office-bearers of the Association for 2009/2010:-

Mr. Makoto Hara – President
(Nihon Superior (M) Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Chen Tien Yue – Vice-President
(Royal Selangor International Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Lim Cheng Sang – Honorary Secretary
(Metal Reclamation (Industries) Sdn. Bhd.)

Mr. Mamoru Kawasaki – Honorary Treasurer
(Selayang Solder Sdn. Bhd.)


During the year under review, the Management Committee of your Association met four times.  It deliberated on various policy issues concerning the industry.  These meetings were held at the Association’s Secretariat.


The Association’s 19th Annual General Meeting was held on 24th June 2009 at the Secretariat Conference Room, 8th Floor, West Block, Wisma Selangor Dredging, Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur.  This was followed by an Annual Luncheon at the same venue.


The Sub-Committee on Solder, formed in 1993, comprising the major solder companies as its members and with Mr. Lim Cheng Sang, a Past-President, as its Convenor was again active during the year under review.

The primary objective of this Sub-Committee is to provide a forum for deliberating matters of common interests of solder company members of the Association. In addition, it considers views and proposals on issues affecting the tin solder sub-sector and where appropriate raises them with the Management Committee of the Association for endorsement and for subsequent submission to the relevant authorities, if necessary.

During 2009, the Sub-Committee on Solder met a total of four times. A major issue which the Sub-Committee continued to deliberate concerns the matter of instilling appropriate discipline amongst members of the Sub-Committee with regard to their marketing and pricing arrangements in order that efforts to support research and development for their products could be enhanced. During the year, members of the Sub-Committee agreed to continue to cooperate in ensuring fair competition and trade in the local solder market.


Due to continuing difficult market conditions, the Association did not organise any seminar during the year.   It is hopeful that the organising of relevant seminars for both members of the Association and the fraternity will be revived in the very near future as economic and business conditions improve.


The Association continued to publish its quarterly Newsletter called “Malaysian Tin Products” during the year. The Newsletter is a public relations exercise and a means to maintain interest amongst members and the fraternity on developments in the Association. It contains news, events and updates concerning the Association, its members and the industry. The Newsletter has a permit from the Ministry of Internal Security, which enables it to be circulated to the public as well. It is produced in-house by the Association’s Secretariat.

The Newsletter published during 2009 continued to improve in terms of layout, contents, and advertising support. This was to enhance its readership value to members and the public, and as an additional source of income for the Association. The Newsletter Editorial Sub-Committee, formed to oversee the production of the Newsletter, met four times during the year. It provided suitable guidance to the Secretariat in the compilation of the publication and the consideration of strategies for strengthening support of the Newsletter.


Messrs Kamal Zahari & Co., Kuala Lumpur was re-appointed Auditors for the year under review.


The Association’s Secretariat is located on the 8th Floor, West Block, Wisma Selangor Dredging, Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur.  It has no  employee but all its secretarial functions are undertaken by the staff of the Secretariat for the Tin Industry (Research and Development) Board.


The Association records its appreciation to all those who have served on the Management Committee during the year under review.

The Association also wishes to record its sincere thanks for the understanding and support of the Ministers of International Trade and Industry, Home Affairs, and Natural Resources and Environment, their Secretary-Generals and senior officials.

Last but not least, the Association is most grateful for the continuing secretarial and administrative support provided by the Tin Industry (Research and Development) Board and its Secretariat staff during the past year.

By Order of the Management Committee
C. S. Lim
Honorary Secretary

15 June 2010
Kuala Lumpur